Black-Eyed Peas for Luck

New Years Day LunchA feast to start out the new year with good luck.

I hadn’t had black-eyed peas until I met my wife who grew up in Tennessee. I have to admit they weren’t my favorite, but with enough seasoning they were OK. According to her, and her family, eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day brings good luck and prosperity. Wikipedia – of course – explains the possible origins of this practice.

I made a pot of vegetable soup the other night and instead of using white beans, I added a couple of cans of black eyed peas. The soup was delicious.

The market had collard greens on sale, so I made those today to have with the soup and cornbread.

Here’s how I cooked the greens.

I chopped half of an onion and a couple of cloves of garlic in the processor and sauteed them in a large pan with some vegetable broth. While that cooked, I pulled the greens off the stem in small pieces.

I then added the greens to the pan with some more broth. I covered the pan and cooked them on medium for about 10 minutes. After the first 10 minutes, I lowered the temp to just above low and cooked them covered for another 20 minutes. Then I left the lid off to cooked them a bit more. Depending on your taste, you can cook them as little as you want or an hour or more.

It was quite a tasty lunch and I hope it continues to bring us good luck.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

